Indiana Astronomical Society

We are an organization that offers the opportunity to share and learn about one of the most ancient and, at the same time, most contemporary of sciences. Our membership includes people of all ages and in many types of professions.

If you're just starting out, congratulations! Astronomy is an immense field with many different and enjoyable areas that you can study. For the beginner, the club has groups to assist you with visual observing and navigating the night sky.

The primary goal of our Society is to make the study of astronomy an experience that is both fun and rewarding. All that is needed from you is your enthusiasm and desire to participate in this fascinating hobby.

If you would like to join the Indiana Astronomical Society (IAS) Download the IAS membership application here. If you have any questions or would like some help finding a mentor, please feel free to contact any of the people listed below by email.

Officers
Contact the IAS President John Molt president@iasindy.org
Contact the IAS Vice President Ken Magar vicepresident@iasindy.org
Contact the IAS Treasurer John Kramer treasurer@iasindy.org
Contact the IAS Secretary David Hollinberger secretary@iasindy.org
Members of the Board
John Shepherd john.shepherd@iasindy.org
Mike Birch mike.birch@iasindy.org
Ed Rhoads ed.rhoads@iasindy.org
Ben Jansen ben.jansen@iasindy.org
Jon Thomas jon.thomas@iasindy.org
Wayne McSpadden wayne.mcspadden@iasindy.org
Fred Keller fred.keller@iasindy.org
Coordinators
Contact the IAS Membership Coordinator - if you have questions about joining the Indiana Astronomical Society.
If you are already a member, the IAS Membership Coordinator should be notified if your contact information such as email address is going to change. The IAS Membership Coordinator also controls access to the IAS-Indy yahoo group to ensure only members may post messages.
Jeff O'Dair membership@iasindy.org
Contact the New Astronomers Group (NAG) Coordinator - If you have questions related to the IAS New Astronomer's programs. Jon Thomas nag@iasindy.org
Contact the IAS Equipment Coordinator - if you would like to borrow telescopes or equipment from the Indiana Astronomical Society (you must be an IAS member). Jon Thomas equipment@iasindy.org
Contact the Link Observatory Manager John Shepherd link-observatory@iasindy.org
Contact the IAS Events Coordinator - if you would like to have the Indiana Astronomy Society bring telescopes to your event. Steve Haines events-coordinator@iasindy.org
Contact the McCloud Star Gaze Coordinator - if you would like to participate in the McCloud Star Gaze. Mike Newberg mccloud-stargaze@iasindy.org
Contact the West Park Liaison - coordinator of the IAS Winter Star Gazes. Dave Collier west-park@iasindy.org
Contact the Eagle Creek Liaison - if you want to participate in astro-events at Eagle Creek Park. Jon Thomas eagle-creek@iasindy.org
Contact the IAS Astronomical League Correspondent - If you have questions related to the Astronomical League. Phil Dimpelfeld astronomical-league@iasindy.org
Contact the Website Content Manager - If you would like to see a correction, enhancement or have questions about the iasindy.org website content. John Molt web-content@iasindy.org
Contact the IAS webmaster - If you have technical questions or issues with the iasindy.org website. All content related questions or issues should be sent to the Website Content Manager Bruce Bowman webmaster@iasindy.org
Contact the IAS Librarian - If you have questions related to the IAS Library. Laura Keller librarian@iasindy.org
Contact the Editor IAS News and Views - If you have questions related to the IAS Monthly Newsletter. Bruce Bowman editor@iasindy.org
Indiana Astronomical Society | © Copyright 2016 | All Rights Reserved
Images by Hubble Space Telescope