Indiana Astronomical Society

The IAS is an organization offering the opportunity to share and learn about one of the most ancient and...at the same time...most contemporary of sciences. Our membership includes people of all ages and professions.

If you're just starting out, congratulations! Astronomy is an immense field with many enjoyable areas of study. For the beginner, we have groups to assist you with visual observing and navigating the night sky.

The main goal of our Society is to make the study of astronomy an experience that is fun and rewarding. All you need to provide is enthusiasm and desire to participate in this fascinating hobby.

To join the Indiana Astronomical Society, click the "Join the Society" button above. If you have any questions or need a mentor, don't hestitate to contact any of the people listed below by email.

Officers
IAS President John Molt president@iasindy.org
IAS Vice President Ben Jansen vicepresident@iasindy.org
IAS Treasurer Robert Aull treasurer@iasindy.org
IAS Secretary Laura Hintz-Keller secretary@iasindy.org
Members of the Board
Mike Birch (2019) mike.birch@iasindy.org
Larry Cates (2019) larry.cates@iasindy.org
Dave Collier (2020) dave.collier@iasindy.org
Norm Dingle (2021) norm.dingle@iasindy.org
Fred Keller (2020) fred.keller@iasindy.org
Jim Smith (2021) jim.smith@iasindy.org
Jon Thomas (2019) jon.thomas@iasindy.org
Coordinators
IAS Membership Coordinator for questions about joining the Indiana Astronomical Society.
If you are already a member, the IAS Membership Coordinator should be notified if your contact information such as email address is going to change. The IAS Membership Coordinator also controls access to the IAS-Indy Collaboration Site at groups.io.
Jeff O'Dair membership@iasindy.org
THIS SECTION UNDER CONSTRUCTION Ben Jansen nag@iasindy.org
IAS Equipment Coordinator to borrow telescopes or equipment from the Indiana Astronomical Society (you must be an IAS member). Jon Thomas equipment@iasindy.org
Goethe Link Observatory Manager to arrange a tour or otherwise coordinate activities at the Link facility on Observatory Road in Martinsville. John Shepherd link-observatory@iasindy.org
IAS Events Coordinator to have the Indiana Astronomical Society bring telescopes and knowledgeable people to your event. Steve Haines events-coordinator@iasindy.org
McCloud Star Gaze Coordinator to participate in the McCloud Stargaze. Jon Thomas mccloud-stargaze@iasindy.org
West Park Liaison for information on our members-only stargazes in Carmel. Dave Collier west-park@iasindy.org
Eagle Creek Liaison to participate in astro-events at Eagle Creek Park on Indy's west side. Jon Thomas eagle-creek@iasindy.org
Astronomical League Correspondent for questions related to Astronomical League programs and membership. Phil Dimpelfeld astronomical-league@iasindy.org
Web Content Manager for corrections, enhancements or questions about the our website content. John Molt web-content@iasindy.org
Web Supervisor for technical questions or issues with the iasindy.org website. Bruce Bowman webmaster@iasindy.org
IAS Librarian for questions related to the IAS Library. Laura Hintz-Keller librarian@iasindy.org
IAS Historian for inquiries related to the history of the IAS or of the Link Observatory. Tom Borlik historian@iasindy.org
Editor IAS News and Views to submit articles or get answers to questions related to our monthly newsletter. Bruce Bowman editor@iasindy.org

Indiana Astronomical Society | © Copyright 2019 | All Rights Reserved
Images by Hubble Space Telescope